You can take the girl out of Texas…

but you can’t take Texas out of the girl.  A lot of people think I don’t have a southern accent.  Just wait til you get me in Texas 😉  To my husband’s dismay I can turn it up like the biggest hick you’ve ever heard…complete with “I’m fixin’ to …” and all.   I personally think my accent is rather charming 😉

What is it about Texans that make us so proud of our state?  I think it’s because Texas is the only state that was a republic first (don’t quote me on that one).  That pride is in our DNA.

I’m not sure if I’d ever want to live there again (maybe Austin).  I’d have to readjust to the humidity all over and get used to my hair looking like a hot mess half the time.  However, I do enjoy my rare visits.  I feel like I’m coming home to “my people”.

We recently took a road trip to the great state over Thanksgiving.  It’s the first time we’ve been there as a whole family in over 6 years!  The weather was not typical for that time of year…a muggy 86 degrees on the warmest day.  My northern children melted, but we had a great time reaquainting with my family.

Don’t ask about the LONG drive.  Just don’t. 😉

The suspension bridge- a Waco landmark.

Me with my step-mom and baby sis.

my dad with all his grandkids

buddies already

Fun for free! My mom giving the kids a ride on "the tractor".

a self-portrait

This is my mom's party shed- Texas style.

uh-huh...

the beauty of simplicity

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You can take the girl out of Texas…

  1. Kelli says:

    Now I miss Dallas/Fort Worth!!!!! Great pics, Ashley, of a truly great state! As they Texas transplants always say, “I am not a native, but I got here as fast as I could!” We did and were sad to leave!

  2. Kelli says:

    Oh, and if you every really want to mess with Josh. . . I was born and raised in Missouri and can turn that accent on and off with the best of them! We could really make him miss the Midwest!

  3. Miranda says:

    That was cute. Same thing happens to me when I see the friends I grew up with. My husband meets someone that looks like me, sounds like them. I’m not sure why that happens….and if we moved back, i agree, only Austin…

  4. Roxana says:

    I can totally relate! (Whippin’ the accent out on command is a great way to get a good laugh.) And I LOVE the pics!!!

  5. Holly says:

    It was so fun to see pictures of you guys. The kids are getting so big. I miss all of you!

  6. Irene says:

    Love the pictures! We really enjoyed your visit. I can can see you guys living in Austin.
    “Ya’ll come back now..hear!”

  7. Lisa says:

    Great pics Ash. As someone who has visited. Houston, Waco, Dallas/Fort Worth and Austin I’ll go ahead and admit that Texas really is great. I seriously had the biggest baked potato known to mad there once… don’t “ya’ll” say everything’s bigger in Texas? And the self-portrait, maybe my favorite picture you’ve ever taken. To me it crosses over from just taken great picture to actually being an artist. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

